Disturbing the Universe

David L Clements, science and science fiction

“British physics” – A Lesson from History

Leave a comment

Newton doesn’t mean that British Physics can survive without the EU, despite what Brexiters might claim.

In the Dark

The other day I came across the following tweet

The link is to an excellent piece about the history of European science which I recommend reading; as I do with this one.

I won’t pretend to be a historian but I can’t resist a comment from my perspective as a physicist. I am currently teaching a course module called Theoretical Physics which brings together some fairly advanced mathematical techniques and applies them to (mainly classical) physics problems. It’s not a course on the history of physics, but thenever I mention a new method or theorem I always try to say something about the person who gave it its name. In the course of teaching this module, therefore, I have compiled…

View original post 941 more words

Author: davecl

Astronomy, science, science fiction

Leave a Reply

