Disturbing the Universe

David L Clements, science and science fiction

Five Figures!

1 Comment

A milestone has been passed – this blog has now received over 10000 hits!

That may not be much for some of you with huge readerships, but I’m impressed. I’m even more impressed that this has happened while I’ve not been posting much. There are plenty of things I could posting about, including:

  • Thoughts on the responsibilities of scientists in ‘speaking truth to power’, inspired by discussions over on the e-Astronomer’s blog
  • My thoughts as I near completion of a major rewrite of the Novel In Progress
  • The welcome news that UKIRT operations are being extended by 3 months while negotiations to secure a new owner are completed
  • Further developments in the Royal Institution Trademark saga, including a new letter from the RI (which you can see here), and the results of some new legal sleuthing (which I need to get permission to pass on)
  • Some (well, quite a lot actually) photos from my recent trip to ESO’s Very Large Telescope

but I haven’t managed to get my finger out to do any of them. I blame a mixture of the heat (my brain seems to shut down at temperatures around 25C, which have dominated London since I got back from Chile) and the distraction from blogging of doing the novel rewrite. I could claim the Stross defence here, that I can either write fiction or blog entries, but Charlie is much more of a real writer than me so that would be presumptive.

I’ll just have to leave this post as a milestone and as a teaser for the things I have yet to blog, and leave a question for you, dear readers: of the things listed above, what would you like to see me write about next?

Author: davecl

Astronomy, science, science fiction

One thought on “Five Figures!

  1. Congrats with the milestone!! I’m impressed too 😉 Of the things listed above, I’d prefer reading about your first point I think… Although that largely depends on how the posts turn out to be of course!

Leave a Reply

