Disturbing the Universe

David L Clements, science and science fiction

HMY Britannia: The Royal Nuclear Bunker

Leave a comment

I’m current reading the book The Secret State by Peter Hennessy. It’s a history and examination of the UK’s secret preparations to prepare for, fight and try to recover from World War 3. It covers the period of the Cold War, starting at the end of WW2 and the development of atomic weapons, and progressing to the development of H-bombs, Polaris and Trident. The perspectives of what would be needed by way of defence, retaliation, and recover, changes considerably over that time.

I haven’t finished it yet, but it has already proved to be one of the most interesting historical accounts I’ve read, possibly because I grew up during the later stages of the Cold War, but also because physics and its applications are driving factors for the whole story. The shift from atomic to the much more powerful thermonuclear weapons, and the sobering effect that had on politicians, is a key point.

One of the key aspects is the preparation for post-nuclear survival of government, and who would go where when the balloon, and the mushroom clouds, were set to go up.

And that is where the Queen’s yacht, Britannia, comes in, because that is where the Royal Family and the Foreign Secretary were to be sent in the event that the Cold War turned hot.

Image

It makes a lot of sense – there is a lot more ocean to hide in than land after all – but is something I had never considered before.

But it also leaves a question… Britannia was decommissioned in 1997, and is now on exhibition in Edinburgh. So what are the current plans for the evacuation of the Queen in the event of, to use the governmental term, general war (or, for fans of Charles Stross’ Laundry novels, CASE:NIGHTMARE:GREEN)?

About these ads

Author: davecl

Astronomy, science, science fiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 628 other followers